

1 Seasonal changes



There are 4 seasons. Winter, Spring. Summer and Autumn. Each season has different weather associated with it, as well as different amounts of daylight.

Key Vocabulary	
Seasons	There are four seasons each year, autumn, winter, spring and summer.
Autumn	In autumn, the weather begins to get colder. The leaves start to fall from the trees. The amount of daylight becomes less. This means the daytimes are shorter and the night times are longer.
Winter	In winter, the weather is much colder. Sometimes it is cold enough to freeze, leaving frost and ice on the ground. It sometimes snows. Many trees have bare branches as all their leaves have fallen off. The daytimes are the shortest in the year and the night times are the longest.
Spring	In Spring the weather begins to get warmer. New plants begin to grow and blossom appears on trees which lost their leaves over the winter.
Summer	In Summer it is often very hot. The days are longer. The trees have lots of green leaves.
Weather	The weather includes the temperature outside, the wind direction and strength, as well as rain, cloud, snow and sun.
Daylight	Daylight is when it is light outside. The amount of daylight changes with each season.



